About the project

A Salad a Day is an independent publication launched on January 1, 2023, by me, Molly Watson.

Inspired by New Calendar of Salad: 365 Answers to the Question "What Shall We Have for Salad?" a hanging calendar published in 1915 and a thrift-store find my dear friend from high school gave me a few years ago for Christmas.

It was a funny gift, but I do eat a salad pretty much every day. Originally, I thought I'd recreate the 1915 salads and write about them. I used to write a lot of recipes for work, but my work has changed in the last few years, and I find I miss writing recipes. Then I read the calendar and, not surprisingly, tastes have changed in the last century. A year of forcing Prune, Nut and Cheese Salad on my family didn't sound like that much fun.

Instead, I challenged myself to come up with a salad recipe for every day for a year—to update the New Calendar of Salads rather than recreate it. Subscribe and see where that challenge goes.

If you subscribe today, you'll get a weekly email with the featured salad of the week for free. For all seven weekly salads and full access to the website (that's your own library of salads), as well as often hilarious reprints of the 1915 recipes (get ready for lots of French dressing, mayonnaise, and "lettuce heart leaves"), you'll need to pony up less than ¢14 a day (and yes, you'll get access to all past recipes if you're joining during the year). If that's a financial burden for you and you love salad, shoot me an email.

Your subscription makes this site possible and allows A Salad a Day to exist. Thank you!

Fresh content delivered to your inbox

Stay up to date with new content sent straight to your inbox. No more worrying about whether you missed something because of a pesky algorithm or news feed.

Meet people like you

Join a community of other subscribers who share the same interests.


Start your own thing

Enjoying the experience? Get started for free and set up your very own subscription business using Ghost, the same platform that powers this website.